Introduction

Introduction to this blog

Hi there. My name is Ollie Locke, not the one from Made in Chelsea would you believe, and I study Economics at the University of Southampton. This blog was setup up as part of “Living and Working on the Web” a UOSM module at Southampton however I would like to continue on blogging in the future.

As part of the module we were asked to fill out a self assessment, shown below, to describe how much experience we had with certain aspects of having an online presence and network. The scale is from 1-5, 1 being no experience and 5 being proficient. The last two columns will be filled out and revisited at the end of the module to see how far I have progressed with my online capabilities and I am excited about the experience.

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information 3 As part of university work assessing the reliability of sources is crucial along with searching for the right information.
Participating in online communities 1 I don’t usually follow along in online communities other than in facebook/whatsapp group messages.
Building online networks around an area of interest 2 I have put together a list of videos/links to easily find information I need on my interests, mainly youtube with a couple of different catergories and bbc good food.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 4 Collaborating with others is something I have had experience with; presentations, coursework, shows and meetings.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) 1 I have never made anything other than on paint but have not done anything with video editing or audio.
Managing your online identity 3 I try to keep everything either professional or not easily accessible for anyone just to flick through.
Managing your online privacy and security 4 Checking privacy settings and the security of sites is a top priority of mine so I am experienced in managing this.

Q1 Why did you choose the module?

I chose this module because it is a much different learning environment to what I am used to and to some degree even comfortable with. It is something new that I would like to experience.

Q2 What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

I mainly want to learn how to relay information online in a formal manner but not one that is as rigorous as academic papers. Possibly for the future but also for after university when I plan to travel and document my experiences in a way which is easy to access and follow.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

I study Economics.

Q4 Have you studied online before?

I have studied online before in terms of seeking out information relating to a topic which has already been discussed or taught previously. However I have looked into new aspects since doing my dissertation and I hope we will do something like that in this course.

Leave a Reply

